About Mormonism

Investigating Mormonism from many different angles

  • Top Clicks

    • None

My Confirmation Story

Posted by nebula0 on October 21, 2008


This is as continuation of my “Why I became a Mormon” story.  When I left off I had just been baptized and had my first big Mormon spiritual experience.  My next one occurred when I got confirmed and received the gift of the Holy Ghost.  This activity happens the next Fast and Testimony meeting, the first Sunday of the month, after a new member is baptized and mine came up the next weekend.

The ceremony is simple enough.  You get to pick the men who you want to bless you, they must hold the Melchizedek priesthood and be in good standing.  I didn’t know many people so I had my new bishop and the elders bless me.  A chair is set up front, facing the congregation, and after the event is announced I go up and sit in it.  The men lay their hands on my heads, stacking them, and they feel heavy.  They start the spiel, one of the elders is speaking.  They say my full name, that by the power of their priesthood they are blessing me and they give me a blessing.  I’m sorry but I can’t remember a single word of it besides the standard “Receive the Holy Ghost!”.

What I do remember is feeling electricity run through my head from the hands.  It ran through my whole body.  I felt electrified.  When I stood up when they were done, I felt that weightlessness that I felt at my baptism.  I struggled to get back to my seat near the back.  People congratulated me, and that feeling of walking on air lasted the rest of the meeting.

By this point I felt that I could be a Mormon, with all reality, but I know I still had many doubts.  The experiences created in me a sense of desire to throw all my doubts in the air and join the community.  I still felt a lot of reservations about sharing this with my family, and a sense of discord between my ideal person (the dispassionate physicist) and this new Mormon person.  With the next year I worked those things out in an attempt to fully integrate my entire person into Mormonism.  I did succeed, for a few years, and when the doubts resurfaced they would be different.  But that’s for another post.

4 Responses to “My Confirmation Story”

  1. Seth R. said

    I can’t wait for the other shoe to drop.

  2. nebula0 said

    lol which other shoe Seth?

  3. Chad said

    Someone linked your blog, and I started reading. Wow it just reeled me in. I just love the way you write so nakedly honest. (does that make any sense)

    I guess what drew me in is that you think a lot like I do, so I could relate quite a bit.

    Faith before knowledge is a bugger thought, isn’t it.

    Wish you all the luck and I will keep on checking back to read.

  4. nebula0 said

    Thanks Chad, that’s quite the compliment.

Leave a Reply

 
